Many have asked why I care about the West Memphis 3 case so much or why I am giving it so much attention. As many know, I have several differing passions, all of them involving some sort of “public” attention: fashion, music, writing. However, investigating internationally-known crimes does not involve this sort of attention; this sort of “hobby” is said all in its name: private investigation. Although much speculation and controversy can surround this type of endeavor, there is no need for public opinion or even public approval. (Not that I have ever really sought public approval, but I have tried to achieve public understanding, often failing because of my controversial views on different topics. And there again could be another reason why I have been putting in so much work towards my own understanding of these infamous crimes: because it is controversial for me to do so.)

I have loved fashion all of my life. I have loved music all of my life. I have been writing for longer than I can remember; I have over 500 poems penned under my pseudonyms Essence and Amanda-Marie. (If, ever during this reading, it seems like I am a braggart, it just might be because I am.) I was led to none of these things; they just all seemed to always be a part of me. I may not have the time to spend with them lately that I might like to have, considering that I have two children, and considering my newest fascination. A fascination that I was indeed, this time, led to.

I was led to investigate privately by three different “forces”, namely three different icons (whether positively, negatively or consequentially) of the criminal world: (1) Charles Manson, (2) Damien Echols and, (3) Stevie Branch. One of these names has more negative connotations than the others but, truthfully, he is where it all started for me. And I already see the scorn in most of your eyes, but he was the lesson for me. He is where I learned that what is supposed to be right about justice sometimes turns out to be wrong. In other words, do not always believe the law just because it is the law. Events may turn out to be more than they appear, the truth might not be always what is claimed. Objects seen from the rearview mirror may be bigger than they actually appear.

While conducting my studies on Manson, whom I have been fascinated by for many more years than you would probably actually like, I came across a statement about this guy named Damien Echols, who was considered by the person being quoted that “Damien Echols could be the next Manson or Jeffrey Dahmer.” I thought, hmm really? Who could this guy be trying to claim the throne of perhaps the most reviled man that’s ever existed? I admit it, I was curious. So, I did what I always do, and I picked up a book: “Devil’s Knot” to be exact.

Now, I admit too, that after watching all three of the ‘Paradise Lost’ documentaries as well as reading Mara Leveritt’s take on the situation, I could have been considered as not exactly objective to the situation. Therefore, I had to have more–more information, to be exact. As one who privately investigates, the point–for most, at least–is to get to the truth. And that has always been the objective for me. I hate to be lied to. Though I may not necessarily like or even agree with the truth, I am going to hate the lie a lot more (even if the lie is as appealing as strawberry ice cream).

Since I had already discovered the opinions of those who considered the WM3 (as they are so affectionately called by their supporters) to be innocent, my next objective was to “hear” the opinions of those who did not view the WM3 so affectionately. These people call themselves “nons” (non-supporters) and claim to be viewing the facts objectively. (We will talk later on how this particular crime has become a very heated topic between the supporters and nons, with only a select minority being able to discuss it civilly.)

So, in order to gain more perspective and see both sides of the case, I traveled to Callahan. And, boy, was the trip exhausting!

to be continued